Harmony Chau
MMS Piano and Voice Instructor Since 2016

 

Getting to Know Harmony...

What brought on your interest in music?  

Throughout childhood & adolescent years, I was always a music kid, doing everything from band, to choir, chamber choir, pit orchestra, and marching band. I learned how to play flute, mallet percussion, some oboe, and dabbled in a bit of anything musical really. In college, I became a vocal major but later switched to piano after I rediscovered my passion for the instrument. To put it simply, music has always been a part of my life and it's not going anywhere anytime soon!

When did you start your studies?

At age 5, I started taking private piano lessons. During high school I took a short pause from private lessons, and during college I started taking lessons again with Dr. Yuni Kim.

Was your family involved in music?

My dad enjoys singing, which I think has been an influence on me. In general, my parents are lovers of music and very supportive of my career in the arts.

Have you participated in any extra-curricular organizations or music clubs?

In high school, I participated in the NJ All-State Choir, NJ Regions Choir, sang in chamber and women's choir, played mallet percussion in marching band, was a keyboardist for The Wiz and All Shook Up, and played flute in band. Presently, I'm a participating member of the NAfME (National Association for Music Educators) collegiate chapter at Montclair State University, and am playing keyboard for an upcoming musical Aida.

What other types of instruments are in your repertoire?

I am also a vocalist and flutist. I played flute for 7 years in middle and high school, and have been singing for 7 years in high school and college.

Have you played at other venues?

I have performed solo piano at the Jed. Leshowitz Recital Hall at Montclair State University, sang at the NJPAC and Carnegie Hall with the Montclair State University Singers, and played lounge piano for Kafe Mozart in Parsippany.

Any favorite hobbies other than music?

In my free time, I enjoy reading, doing yoga/pilates, exploring NYC, and spending time with friends/family.